Mike Miller Classic
Presented By:  First Dakota National Bank

The 2016 Schedule is set!
December 29th-30th @ The Corn Palace in Mitchell, SD
December 30th @ The Sanford Pentagon in Sioux Falls, SD

Welcome to the 6th Annual Mike Miller Classic. Mike and his home state of South Dakota are excited to announce that the City of Mitchell and The Worlds Only Corn Palace will be hosting teams from around the country -- including South Dakato, Minnesota, Kansas, Tennessee, Washington, Florida, Wisconsin, Nebraska, and Nevada. Mike and the Mike Miller Foundation look forward to seeing you at this years Classic!  Check out the schedule!


Photo courtesy of Convention & Visitors BureauMike Miller Classic releases 17-game schedule

MITCHELL, S.D. A 17-game schedule with high school and college basketball programs from seven states highlights the seventh annual Mike Miller Classic Dec. 29 and 30 at the Corn Palace in Mitchell and Sanford Pentagon in Sioux Falls.

The Corn Palace will host 11 games during the two-day event, while the Pentagon's Heritage Court will have six games on the final day.

High school girls programs include Aberdeen Central, Sioux Falls O'Gorman and Waconia (Minnesota). Boys teams are Aberdeen Central, Bridgewater-Emery, Chester, DeLaSalle (Minnesota), First Assembly Christian (Tennessee), IMG Academy (Florida), La Lumiere (Indiana), Mitchell Christian, Mitchell, Patrick Henry (Minnesota), Prairie Seeds Academy (Minnesota), Sioux Falls O'Gorman, Sioux Falls Washington and St. Anthony (Texas).

The Mike Miller Classic again contains the Coach Gary Munson Tournament, named in honor of Mike Miller's former coach who led Mitchell to 34 state tournament appearances, 18 Eastern South Dakota Conference titles, five state runner-up honors and nine state championships. Mitchell and Sioux Falls O'Gorman will play the first game of the Coach Gary Munson Tournament on Dec. 29 at 6:30 p.m. at the Corn Palace. Five-time defending state champion and Minnesota Class 3A preseason No. 1 DeLaSalle and IMG Academy (Florida) will meet at 8:30 p.m. in an opening-round game. The winners will advance to the tournament championship game on Dec. 30 at the Pentagon.

Four college men's basketball teams will also play four games at the Corn Palace as part of the Doug Martin Classic: Dakota State University, Dakota Wesleyan University, Southeastern University (Florida) and York College (Nebraska). Doug Martin is the former head coach at Dakota Wesleyan, where he led the Tigers to four conference titles and was named conference coach of the year three times.

Sioux Falls Washington and Aberdeen Central will face programs with national reputations on the final evening of the Mike Miller Classic at the Pentagon. Washington plays St. Anthony at 5:30, while Aberdeen Central will face La Lumiere at 8:30. St. Anthony boasts 6-10 big man Charles Bassey, who last year was named the country's top freshman by Fab 50. He's also the No. 2-ranked recruit for 2019. La Lumiere was the national runner-up last year and is expected to debut at No. 1 in the USA Today preseason rankings. The Lakers' 2017 class has four players in the ESPN 100 rankings, including the No. 10 recruit in the country, forward Brian Bowen.

Tickets go on sale Sept. 1 at Ticketmaster.com, cornpalace.com and the Corn Palace and Pentagon box offices.

Corn Palace Photo courtesy of Convention & Visitors Bureau.






Copyright 2016. Mike Miller Foundation.